CLA Radio 08/18/17: Songs About Elvis

What: To commemorate the 40th anniversary of the burial of Elvis Presley (8/18/77), ConservativeLA Radio will take a stroll through the vast category of Songs About Elvis, mostly (but not all) humorous and off-the-beaten-track tunes.

When: Friday, August 18, 2017; 6:00 PM Pacific/9:00 PM Eastern.

Where: Duane FM in the Hughniverse (subscription required).

(And be sure to stay tuned to Duane FM most weeks after my show to hear Generalissimo’s musical response.)

Spotify playlist: Here. (Songs marked with an asterisk are not included on Spotify.)

Additional info: Hope you can join us in chat!

Twitter info: My Twitter handle is @ConservativeLA. The show hashtag is #CLARadio.

Set list:

Announcer – Elvis Has Left The Building (1956) – The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives
Warren Zevon – Jesus Mentioned – The Envoy
* Virginia Lowe – I’m In Love With Elvis Presley
Mojo Nixon, Skid Roper – Elvis Is Everywhere – Unlimited Everything
Mike Sarne – My Baby’s Crazy About Elvis – Come Outside With Mike Sarne
Steve Goodman – Elvis Imitators – Artistic Hair
* Terry Scott Taylor – Pretend I’m Elvis (Just For One Night) – Avocado Faultline
Dread Zeppelin – Li’l Baby Elvis Jackson – No Quarter Pounder
X – Back 2 The Base (Edited) – Wild Gift
Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds – Tupelo – The Firstborn Is Dead
* Otto Bash – Elvis Presley Blues
Gillian Welch – Elvis Presley Blues – Time (The Revelator)
Emmylou Harris – Boy From Tupelo – Red Dirt Girl
John Hiatt – Tennessee Plates – 20th Century Masters
* Little Lambsie Penn – I Wanna Spend Xmas With Elvis
The Fabulous McClevertys – Don’t Blame It On Elvis – Muriel’s Treasure Vol 1
* Holly Twins, Eddie Cochran – I Want Elvis For Christmas
John Hiatt – Riding With The King – Riding With The King
Bob Dylan – Went To See The Gypsy – New Morning
Richard Thompson – From Galway To Graceland – Acoustic Classics
Warren Zevon – Porcelain Monkey – Life’ll Kill Ya
* The Threeteens – Dear 53310761
Drive-By Truckers – Carl Perkins’ Cadillac – The Dirty South
Neil Young, Crazy Horse – My My, Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue) – Rust Never Sleeps
Elvis Costello and The Attractions – Worthless Thing – Goodbye Cruel World
* Lou Monte – Elvis Presley For President
Public Enemy – Fight The Power – Fear Of A Black Planet
Roy Orbison – Hound Dog Man – Laminar Flow
Skurvy The Clown – Elvis Stole My El Camino – Obsessive Repulsive
Pete de Bree – Hey, Mr Presley – Rock’n’Roll Boogies
Billy Walker – I Saw Elvis At Wal-Mart – Stars Love Captain D’s
Ray Stevens – I Saw Elvis In A UFO – The Legendary Ray Stevens
* Marlene Paula – I Wanna Spend Christmas With Elvis
Wall Of Voodoo – Elvis Bought Dora A Cadillac – Lost Weekend
The Vandals – Elvis Decanter – Really Bad Original Country Tunes
Frank Zappa – Elvis Has Just Left The Building – Broadway The Hard Way
Merle Haggard – From Graceland To The Promised Land – 20 Hits Vol 2
George Jones – The King Is Gone (So Are You) – 16 Biggest Hits
* Sonny Cole – I Dreamed I Was Elvis
Howling Diablos – Elvis Lives – Car Wash
Loudon Wainwright III – Happy Birthday Elvis – Career Moves
Bobby Bare – All American Boy – The Essential Bobby Bare
Janis Martin – My Boy Elvis – We Love You To Pieces
* Genee Harris – Bye Bye Elvis
The Geezinslaws – Paint Me On Velvet – I Wish I Had A Job To Shove

Leave a comment