CLA Radio 03/24/17: The Draft

What: A ConservativeLA Radio show about The Draft (Conscription) in honor of the anniversary of Elvis Presley’s induction into the Army.

When: Friday, March 24, 2017 6:00 PM Pacific/9:00 PM Eastern.

Where: Duane FM in the Hughniverse.

Spotify playlist: None this time–too many non-Spotify sources.

Additional info: Hope you can join us in chat!

Twitter info: My Twitter handle is @ConservativeLA. The show hashtag is #CLARadio.

Set list:

Elvis Presley – GI Blues (1960)
British Pathe Newsreel – Conscription in USA – Call-Up by Ballot (1940)
Vaughn Monroe – Is It Love Or Is It Conscription (1940)
Count Basie and his Orchestra – Draftin’ Blues (1940)
Count Basie and his Orchestra – What’s Your Number (1940)
Nat King Cole Trio – Gone With the Draft (1940)
Andrews Sisters Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy (1941)
Benny Goodman, Charlie Christian – Gone With What Draft (1941)
The Prairie Ramblers – I’ll Be Back In A Year (Little Darlin’) (1941)
Sons Of The Pioneers – (Goodbye My Darlin’) They Drew My Number (1941)
Horace Heidt – Good Bye Dear, I’ll Be Back In A Year (1941)
Cliff Bruner And His Boys – Draft Board Blues (1941)
The Prairie Ramblers – Answer to I’ll Be Back in a Year, Little Darlin’ (1941)
Chuck Foster and his Orchestra – I’ve Been Drafted (Now I’m Drafting You) (1941)
Nettles Brothers String Band – I Feel The Draft Coming On (1941)
Harry James, Helen Forrest – He’s 1-A in the Army and He’s A-1 in My Heart (1941)
Big Bill Broonzy – In the Army Now (1941)
Texas Rangers – I’ve Changed My Penthouse For a Pup Tent (1941)
McFarland Twins Orchestra – Hey Zeke (Your Country’s Callin’) (1942)
Donald Duck – Donald Gets Drafted (1942)
Four Vagabounds – Four Buddies (1943)
Popeye the Sailor – Seein’ Red White ‘N’ Blue (1943)
Benny Goodman – My Guy’s Come Back (1945)
Floyd Dixon – Drafting Blues (1949)
Looney Tunes (US Army) – Drafty, Isn’t It (1957)
Wilbert Harrison – Drafted (1961)
Big Joe Williams – Army Man Blues (1961)
Jimmy Anderson – Draft Board Blues (1962)
The Dellwoods – The Neighborhood Draft Board (1963)
Snooky Pryor – Uncle Sam Don’t Take My Man (1963)
Phil Ochs – Draft Dodger Rag (1965)
The Midnight Sons – Draft Time Blues (1966)
The Byrds – Draft Morning (1968)
Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son (1969)
Steppenwolf – Draft Resister (1969)
Dead Kennedys – When Ya Get Drafted (1980)
Frank Zappa – I Don’t Wanna Get Drafted (1981)
Trace Adkins – Arlington (2005)

Leave a Reply

