CLA Radio 02/03/17: Gospel Blues (repeat)

clar109-gospelblues-banner

The next ConservativeLA Radio show (on Duane FM in the Hughniverse, Friday night, 02/03/17, 6:00 Pacific/9:00 Eastern) will concern itself with Gospel Blues, with an emphasis on music from the late 1920s and early 1930s.

(The show was originally aired on 09/19/14. Due to potential licensing issues, two songs that were included in the original show have been removed for the repeat; minor changes were also made to two of the set announcements.)

Second-time guest programmer Matthew Berg, AKA @wnyconservative did a fine job assembling a wonderful set list!

Hope you can stop by, listen to the show, and join us in chat!

Spoiler set list:

Washington Phillips: Denomination Blues (Pt. 1)
Sister Rosetta Tharpe: Jesus is Here Today
Blind Mamie Forehand: Wouldn’t Mind Dying
Mississippi John Hurt: Oh Mary Don’t You Weep (omitted from repeat)
Mississippi John Hurt: Blind Man Sit In The Way And Cried
Blind Willie Davis: Your Enemy Cannot Harm You
Skip James: Let Jesus Lead You (Take 2)
Skip James: Be Ready When He Comes
Edward Clayborn: Death is Only A Dream
Blind Willie Johnson: Trouble Will Soon Be Over
Blind Willie Johnson: If I Had My Way I’d Tear The Building Down
Sam Collins: I Want to Be Like Jesus in my Heart
Blind Lemon Jefferson: All I Want Is That Pure Religion
Blind Lemon Jefferson: He Arose From The Dead (omitted from repeat)
Andy Mosely And Hogman Maxey: I Know I Got Religion
Reverend Gary Davis: Twelve Gates to the City
Reverend Gary Davis: I’ve Done All My Singing for My Lord
Blind Willie McTell: God Don’t Like It
Bukka White: Promise True and Grand
Bukka White and Memphis Minnie: I Am In The Heavenly Way
Robert ‘Nighthawk’ Johnson: Can’t No Grave Hold My Body Down
Blind Roosevelt Graves: I’ll Be Rested (When the Roll Is Called)
Blind Roosevelt Graves: Woke Up This Morning With My Mind On Jesus
Hambone Willie Newbern: Nobody Knows (What the Good Deacon Does)
Josh White: Joshue Fit The Battle Of Jericho
Josh White: Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed
Son House: John the Revelator
Fred McDowell: When I Lay My Burden Down
Fred McDowell: I Want Jesus to Walk With Me
Willard Artis ‘Blind Pete’ Burrell: I Shall Not Be Moved
Sleepy John Estes: God Can Use Me
Lil McClintock: Sow Good Seeds
Lil McClintock: Mother Called Her Child to Her Dying Bed
Muddy Waters: Why Don’t You Live So God Can Use You
Lonnie McIntorsh: The Lion And The Tribes Of Judah
Mississippi John Hurt: Since I’ve Laid This Burden Down
Kid Prince Moore: Sign of Judgement
Jaybird Coleman: I’m Gonna Cross The River Of Jordan
Washington Phillips: Denomination Blues (Pt. 2)

Leave a Reply

