Emmylou Harris, Songwriter

I started working on a draft of a future CLAR show focusing on Emmylou Harris’ as a songwriter.

The good news is, there’s a lot of material to choose from.

The bad news is, I have four hours’ worth of material, but I only need two hours, so I’ll be doing some cutting.

But before I create a copy of the current list and start chopping away, I thought I’d post the original raw list here, for those who might be interested.

I’m not sure that the list is exhaustive, but I think it’s fairly close to being complete.

The Spotify playlist is here.

Here’s the song list:

All songs are written or co-written by Emmylou Harris. Co-writers’ names are noted parenthetically. The albums are listed in chronological order as to release date, and the song sequencing is left intact within the albums–but, of course, only her compositions are included below.

Enjoy.

Boulder To Birmingham – Pieces Of The Sky (Bill Danoff)
Amarillo – Elite Hotel (Rodney Crowell)
Tulsa Queen – Luxury Liner (Rodney Crowell)
The Ballad of Sally Rose – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Rhythm Guitar – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Heart to Heart – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Woman Walk the Line – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Bad News – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Timberline – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Long Tall Sally Rose – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
White Line – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Diamond in My Crown – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
The Sweetheart of the Rodeo – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Sweet Chariot – The Ballad Of Sally Rose (Paul Kennerley)
Sweetheart Of The Pines – Thirteen (Paul Kennerley)
When I Was Yours – Thirteen (Paul Kennerley)
Heartbreak Hill – Bluebird (Paul Kennerley)
The Light – Cowgirl’s Prayer (Kieran Kane)
Prayer In Open D – Cowgirl’s Prayer
Deeper Well – Wrecking Ball (David Olney, Daniel Lanois)
Waltz Across Texas Tonight – Wrecking Ball (Rodney Crowell)
Raise the Dead – Western Wall with Linda Ronstadt
Sweet Spot – Western Wall with Linda Ronstadt (Jill Cunniff)
All I Left Behind – Western Wall with Linda Ronstadt (Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle)
The Pearl – Red Dirt Girl
Michelangelo – Red Dirt Girl
I Don’t Wanna Talk About It Now – Red Dirt Girl
Tragedy – Red Dirt Girl (Rodney Crowell)
Red Dirt Girl – Red Dirt Girl
My Baby Needs A Shepherd – Red Dirt Girl
Bang The Drum Slowly – Red Dirt Girl (Guy Clark)
J’Ai Fait Tout – Red Dirt Girl (Jill Cunniff, Darryl Johnson)
Hour Of Gold – Red Dirt Girl
My Antonia – Red Dirt Girl
Boy From Tupelo – Red Dirt Girl
Here I Am – Stumble Into Grace (Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle)
I Will Dream – Stumble Into Grace (Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle)
Little Bird – Stumble Into Grace (Jill Cunniff)
Time in Babylon – Stumble Into Grace (Malcolm Burn)
Can You Hear Me Now – Stumble Into Grace
Strong Hand – Stumble Into Grace (Paul Kennerley)
Jupiter Rising – Stumble Into Grace
Plaisir d’Amour – Stumble Into Grace (Daniel Lanois)
Lost Unto This World – Stumble Into Grace
Cup of Kindness – Stumble Into Grace
Love and Happiness – All The Roadrunning with Mark Knofler (Kimmie Rhodes)
Belle Starr – All The Roadrunning with Mark Knofler
Gold – All I Intended To Be
How She Could Sing the Wildwood Flower – All I Intended To Be (Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle)
Take That Ride – All I Intended To Be
Not Enough – All I Intended To Be
Sailing Round the Room – All I Intended To Be (Kate McGarrigle, Anna McGarrigle)
The Road – Hard Bargain
Home Sweet Home – Hard Bargain
My Name Is Emmett Till – Hard Bargain
Goodnight Old World – Hard Bargain (Will Jennings)
New Orleans – Hard Bargain (Will Jennings)
Big Black Dog – Hard Bargain
Lonely Girl – Hard Bargain
Six White Cadillacs – Hard Bargain (Will Jennings)
The Ship on His Arm – Hard Bargain
Darlin’ Kate – Hard Bargain
Nobody – Hard Bargain

Leave a Reply

