Damning With Faint Praise: Obama’s Profession of Faith

First off, I’m an agnostic (or soft-atheist) ex-Christian (but I get along famously with Christians, unlike a lot of my ilk), so consider the source.

Second, I am not making any intimations about Obama being a stealth Muslim or any such prattle.

And please do feel free to correct any misunderstandings that I seem to evince re Christianity in the following.

Finally, keep in mind that I do not feel constrained by any “between him and God” limitations in my comments as I would if I were still a Christian.

All that said….

Seriously, Christians don’t talk like this:

“I’m a Christian by choice,” the president said…

Christian by choice? No, you were saved by Grace. “Christian by choice” sounds a bit like some kind of marketplace of faith (which attitude you alluded to later in your remarks, doing the whole all-religions-are-equal leveling that marks someone who has no true understanding of Christianity).

…”My family, frankly, they weren’t folks who went to church every week. My mother was one of the most spiritual people I knew…”

And she was a Marxist, like most of the people in your life. Color me not very impressed.

“…but she didn’t raise me in the church…”

“Spiritual” Marxists usually don’t, although there are exceptions (Jeremiah Wright’s Liberation Theology “church” comes to mind).

“…so I came to my Christian faith later in life and it was…”

Then it gets really interesting:

“…because the precepts of Jesus Christ spoke to me in terms of the kind of life that I would want to lead. Being my brothers and sisters’ keeper, treating others as they would treat me, and I think also understanding that Jesus Christ dying for my sins spoke to the humility we all have to have as human beings, that we’re sinful and we’re flawed and we make mistakes and we achieve salvation through the grace of God…”

Precepts? Are you flipping serious? Not His–oh, I don’t know–Divinity???? Spoke to you in terms of the life you wanted to lead? Did you happen to pick up on the “all have fallen far short of the Glory of God” part by any chance? Blood of the Lamb? Hello, President Narcissist!!

See also: CS Lewis’ Trilemma: “[B]ut let us not come with any patronising nonsense about his being a great human teacher. He has not left that open to us. He did not intend to.”

So the Crucifixion speaks to the humility of human beings? Did you go to church on Uranus?

Oh, sorry, I forgot–you went to Trinity United Church of Christ.

The coda about Grace of God is a phony throwaway line contradicted by everything that comes before.
His “Christianity” is in fact (let the howls from the Left commence) classical liberation theology (and “being my brothers and sisters’ keeper” is an interesting construction: note the singular he and the plural them). (He stops just short of the old saw of non-believers, “He was a great teacher among many.” See CS Lewis reference, above.)

…Mr. Obama went on: “But what we can do, as flawed as we are, is still see God in other people, and do our best to help them find their own grace. That’s what I strive to do, that’s what I pray to do every day.’” Yet he said that as president, he also “deeply believes that part of the bedrock strength of this country is that it embraces people of many faiths and of no faith.”

Maybe he’s a Zen Buddhist, because that was the most meaningless meaning–or was it meaningful meaninglessness–I have ever heard. No John 3:16, no Pauline homilies, nothing about a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, or anything of the kind–in short, nothing that would indicate to anyone with a passing familiarity with Christianity that he is what he claims to be.

I guess if I ignored my preacher’s sermons for 20 years, I’d sound the same way.

3 Responses to Damning With Faint Praise: Obama’s Profession of Faith

  1. wadingacross says:

    For a self-proclaimed former Christian, you do a good job pointing out the problems of Obama’s claims. I’m in the middle of working on a post about this myself. No doubt many will be and are already all over this topic too!

  2. Pingback: Doubling Down On His Religion With Another Flop? « Wading Across

  3. Pingback: Doubling Down On His Religion With Another Flop? | RedState

Leave a Reply

